Utah Marijuana Compliance

Recreational marijuana use is illegal in the state of Utah. Medical marijuana use is legal, but the law does not provide any protections for users who fail an employment drug test. Employers who wish to test employees and job candidates for marijuana must follow Utah marijuana and drug screening compliance rules. This includes having a written drug testing policy in place and making it available to employees and job candidates. Employers and general managers must also periodically submit to marijuana drug testing themselves.

Register for a drug test online by clicking the “Register Now” button below. You can also call (888) 378-2499 with any questions about our drug testing services.

Register Now

This Information Is Not Intended for Legal Purposes

The information provided on this page is intended for your own knowledge, and should not be used for legal matters. Since marijuana testing regulations can vary, we advise you to seek the guidance of expert legal counsel when creating your company’s substance abuse screening program.

Utah Marijuana Compliance

Utah Marijuana Laws

Overall Status: Partially Legal

While certain patients are allowed to use medical marijuana under Utah state laws, recreational (adult-use) marijuana remains illegal.

Medical Marijuana: Legal

Utah voters approved Proposition 2 (The Utah Medical Cannabis Act) on November 6, 2018. This law allows certain patients to possess and use medicinal marijuana and allows state-licensed facilities to cultivate, process, test, and/or sell medicinal cannabis.

Over the years, the state has frequently updated its medical marijuana laws – tightening some restrictions and loosening others. The state’s medical marijuana program is overseen by the Utah Department of Health (UDOH).

Currently, Utah marijuana laws allow medical marijuana patients age 18 or over, designated caregivers, and parents or legal guardians of minor patients to purchase medical marijuana from state-approved pharmacies. In addition, patients under the age of 21 must be approved by Utah’s Compassionate Use Board.

The maximum amount allowed is up to 3.95 ounces of cannabis within a 30-day period. This cannabis can also have a maximum of 0.67 ounces of total THC. Medical marijuana may be used in multiple forms, including:

east
Concentrated oil
east
Tablet
east
Liquid suspension
east
Capsule
east
Skin patch
east
Gelatin cube

Users may also vape resin, wax, or marijuana flower but may not smoke marijuana using any type of flame. Vaping marijuana products with a heated nail is also prohibited.

Decriminalized: No

Marijuana use is not decriminalized in the state of Utah. Possession of less than one ounce of marijuana is punishable by up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. Individuals caught with more than one ounce and up to one pound may face up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500. Both offenses are misdemeanors. Possession of any amount over one pound is a felony.

Recreational Marijuana: Illegal

There are no recreational marijuana laws in Utah. The possession, use, sale, or cultivation of marijuana is illegal in Utah, with the exception of qualified medical marijuana patients.

Last updated 1/16/2024

Frequently Asked Questions

It is illegal to use marijuana in Utah, with the exception of qualified medical marijuana users. Anyone caught using marijuana without a medical cannabis card is subject to legal penalties, including jail time and substantial fines.

What is Utah’s history with marijuana?

Utah passed a medical marijuana law (The Medical Cannabis Act) in November of 2018, with a 53% voter approval. Revisions to the law were enacted in 2019 and 2020, expanding eligibility and prohibiting discrimination of medical marijuana patients.

What is the punishment for possession in Utah?

In Utah, possession of even a small amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor that is punishable by both incarceration and monetary fines. For under an ounce, it’s 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

Drug Tests That Exclude Marijuana

Urine Drug Panels That Do Not Include Marijuana Testing

Some of the popular drug tests that remove THC from the panel of drugs being tested are listed below:

Also try taking a look at our comprehensive list of urine drug panels that exclude marijuana. Drug tests that do not include marijuana testing can be found under the “Exclude Marijuana” section.

Hair Drug Tests That Do Not Include Marijuana Testing

To remove marijuana testing from a hair test, try one of our two popular hair tests:

For a complete list of our hair drug tests, take a look at our comprehensive list of hair tests.

Drug Panels That Include Marijuana

Urine Drug Tests That Include THC Testing

If marijuana testing is needed, the below urine drug panels include testing for THC:

For a complete list of urine drug panels that we offer, view our urine drug panels here.

Hair Drug Panels That Include Marijuana Testing

The following are hair drug tests that include testing for THC:

A comprehensive list of the hair drug panels that we offer can be found here.

Citations

menu_book
“Utah.” Weedmaps, https://weedmaps.com/learn/laws-and-regulations/utah
menu_book
“Utah.” Marijuana Policy Project, https://www.mpp.org/states/utah/
menu_book
“Utah Laws and Penalties.” NORML, https://norml.org/laws/utah-penalties-2/
menu_book
“Utah Code, Chapter 38. Drug and Alcohol Testing.” Utah State Legislature, https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title34/Chapter38/C34-38_1800010118000101.pdf
menu_book
“H.B. 3001 Utah Medical Cannabis Act.” Utah State Legislature, https://le.utah.gov/~2018s3/bills/static/HB3001.html