Colorado Marijuana Compliance

Colorado marijuana compliance laws allow for the recreational and medicinal use of marijuana. Medicinal marijuana users must meet certain qualifications, and recreational marijuana users must be adults ages 21 and older. Employers do not have to accommodate medical marijuana use, and they can still enforce a drug-free workplace policy that includes marijuana use. They may also test for marijuana use following a work-related accident.

Marijuana state vs. federal laws often differ, and even though marijuana is legal in Colorado, it remains illegal under federal law. Colorado residents must become familiar with both federal and Colorado marijuana compliance guidelines.

To register for a drug test, simply sign up using the button below. To register via phone, or if you have any questions, we can be reached at (888) 378-2499.

Register Now

This Information Is Not Intended for Legal Purposes

The information provided on this page is intended for your own knowledge, and should not be used for legal matters. Since marijuana testing regulations can vary, we advise you to seek the guidance of expert legal counsel when creating your company's substance abuse screening program.

Colorado Marijuana Compliance

Colorado Marijuana Laws

Overall Status: Fully Legal

Medicinal marijuana became legal in Colorado in the year 2000, and marijuana for recreational purposes was legalized in Colorado in 2012.

Medical Marijuana: Legal

Medicinal marijuana is legal in Colorado for qualifying patients. Patients must be Colorado residents at least 18 years of age and have a qualifying medical condition. Minors and patients ages 18-20 must submit certifications from two providers.

Qualifying medical conditions include cancer, glaucoma, HIV, cachexia, persistent muscle spasms, seizures, severe pain, or severe nausea.

Decriminalized: Yes

Colorado residents with previous marijuana convictions have an opportunity for expungement for activities that have become legal under Colorado marijuana compliance laws. These convictions may become expunged or vacated due to the change in recreational marijuana laws.

Recreational Marijuana: Legal

Recreational marijuana laws began allowing recreational use of marijuana in 2012. Colorado residents ages 21 and older may possess up to an ounce of marijuana at a time. Marijuana purchases in Colorado must take place in licensed dispensaries throughout the state. Marijuana that contains THC must remain in Colorado and not be used in public spaces.

Last updated 1/12/2024

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. Marijuana is legal in Colorado for both medicinal and recreational purposes. Adult use of marijuana, up to two ounces, is allowed for those 21 years of age and older. Medical marijuana is allowed for those 18 and older.

Are there any unique laws about marijuana in Colorado?

Colorado marijuana laws consider it a felony for non-United States citizens to consume marijuana in Colorado. Residents may possess up to two ounces of marijuana. In a vehicle, it must be sealed and unused, according to Colorado marijuana compliance guidelines.

It is also only legal for medical marijuana patients to purchase medicinal marijuana.

What is Colorado's history with marijuana?

Medicinal marijuana in Colorado became legal for patients in 2000. Qualifying patients were able to possess limited amounts of medicinal marijuana. Colorado's Medical Marijuana Code was enacted in 2010, regulating local and state medical marijuana businesses.

Colorado's recreational marijuana laws legalized marijuana in the state for recreational use in 2012. The first marijuana stores opened in Colorado on January 1, 2014, when the Colorado Retail Marijuana Code was enacted.

What is the punishment for possession in Colorado?

Colorado marijuana compliance allows for the possession of up to two ounces of marijuana with no penalty. The possession of more than two ounces of marijuana is considered a petty offense with a maximum fine of $100.

Possessing more than two to six ounces is a misdemeanor under Colorado marijuana laws, and is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to a $700 fine. The possession of more than 12 ounces of marijuana is a felony that results in one to two years in jail and a max fine of $100,000.

Drug Panels That Exclude Marijuana

Urine Drug Panels That Exclude Marijuana Testing

Some of the popular drug panels that remove marijuana testing are listed below:

Also try taking a look at our comprehensive list of urine drug tests that exclude marijuana, where you'll find a complete list of drug tests that do not include THC testing under the "Exclude Marijuana" section.

Hair Drug Panels That Exclude Marijuana Testing

Two of our popular hair tests allow for the option to exclude marijuana from the panel of substances being tested. These include:

For a complete list of our hair drug tests, take a look at our comprehensive list of hair tests.

Drug Panels That Include Marijuana

Urine Drug Panels That Include Marijuana Testing

Many of our testing options include marijuana testing. Below are some of the most popular urine drug tests including marijuana:

Also try taking a look at our comprehensive list of urine drug tests that include marijuana.

Hair Drug Panels That Include Marijuana Testing

Our variety of hair drug tests include many options for marijuana testing. Some of the most commonly ordered hair drug tests are:

A comprehensive list of the hair drug tests that we offer can be found here.


"Collecting the History of Marijuana Legalization in Colorado." History Colorado, 19 April 2019,
"History of Colorado's Medical Marijuana Laws." Sensible Colorado,
"Colorado Laws and Penalties." NORML,
"How to apply for a Colorado medical marijuana card." Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment, 1 January 2022,
"Staying on the Right Side of Marijuana Laws." Colorado Tourism, 3 January 2022,
"Responsibility Starts with Knowing the Laws." Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment,
"1 CCR 212-1 - Rules Regarding the Sales, Manufacturing and Dispensing of Medical Marijuana." Department of Revenue,
"1 CCR 212-2 - Retail Marijuana Code." Department of Revenue,
"What Colorado Employers Need To Know About Marijuana and Workers' Compensation." Denver Chamber of Commerce,