Arkansas Marijuana Compliance
In Arkansas, medicinal marijuana is legal for patients that meet certain requirements. However, Arkansas marijuana compliance laws still consider recreational marijuana illegal in the state. Employers cannot discriminate against those who use medical marijuana, but they are still allowed to maintain a drug-free workplace policy, even if an employee legally uses medical marijuana.
Arkansas residents must become familiar with marijuana state vs. federal laws. Like the state of Arkansas, federal recreational marijuana laws also consider the drug illegal.
Medical marijuana users and their employers must educate themselves on medicinal marijuana laws in Arkansas.
Here are some common questions and answers regarding Arkansas marijuana compliance.
To register for a drug test, simply sign up using the button below. To register via phone, or if you have any questions, we can be reached at (888) 378-2499.
This Information Is Not Intended for Legal Purposes
The information provided on this page is intended for your own knowledge, and should not be used for legal matters. Since marijuana testing regulations can vary, we advise you to seek the guidance of expert legal counsel when creating your company’s substance abuse screening program.
Arkansas Marijuana Compliance
Arkansas Marijuana Laws
Overall Status: Partially Legal
Medical marijuana is legal in Arkansas for patients that meet certain requirements. However, there are no recreational marijuana laws in Arkansas. The state has not legalized marijuana for adult recreational use.
Medical Marijuana: Legal
In Arkansas, medical marijuana is legal for qualifying patients. To meet these requirements, patients must be an Arkansas resident over the age of 18 (or a minor with a parent’s consent), have a diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition, and have a written certification from a physician.
Medical marijuana is legal for some patients in Arkansas, but recreational marijuana remains illegal. Depending on the marijuana possession charge, the punishment ranges from a misdemeanor charge with less than a year in prison to up to 30 years in prison with a $15,000 fine.
Recreational Marijuana: Illegal
Recreational marijuana use in Arkansas is illegal, and there are no current recreational marijuana laws in the state allowing general adult use.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is marijuana legal in Arkansas?
Arkansas recreational marijuana laws consider recreational marijuana fully illegal. Possession of under four ounces, if it’s a first offense, is punishable by up to a year in prison. Medicinal marijuana is legal in Arkansas for qualifying patients that follow the Arkansas marijuana compliance guidelines.
Are there any unique laws about marijuana in Arkansas?
Arkansas marijuana compliance laws require a mandatory minimum sentence of three years for the possession of marijuana of more than 10 pounds or for the sale of marijuana of over four ounces.
The possession of marijuana in Arkansas of more than 500 pounds is presumed to be intent to traffic and is considered a trafficking offense.
What is Arkansas’ history with marijuana?
The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016 approved marijuana use for seriously ill patients that meet certain requirements in the state. Qualified patients in Arkansas can obtain a doctor’s order for medicinal marijuana and safely obtain the drug for medical purposes.
In 2019, Arkansas marijuana laws specified that tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD) obtained from hemp are not considered marijuana.
What is the punishment for possession in Arkansas?
Arkansas marijuana compliance does not allow for the possession of marijuana in any amount for recreational purposes. The possession of less than four ounces of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor for the first offense, punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine of $2,500. A subsequent offense of the same charge is considered a felony under Arkansas marijuana laws and is punishable by up to six years in prison and a fine of $10,000. The possession of any amount more than 4 ounces is a felony under Arkansas marijuana compliance laws. Jail time for marijuana possession offenses is up to 30 years and a fine of up to $15,000.
Drug Tests That Exclude Marijuana
Urine Drug Panels That Do Not Include Marijuana Testing
Some of the popular drug tests that remove THC from the panel of drugs being tested are listed below:
Also try taking a look at our comprehensive list of urine drug panels that exclude marijuana. Drug tests that do not include marijuana testing can be found under the “Exclude Marijuana” section.
Hair Drug Tests That Do Not Include Marijuana Testing
To remove marijuana testing from a hair test, try one of our two popular hair tests:
For a complete list of our hair drug tests, take a look at our comprehensive list of hair tests.
Drug Panels That Include Marijuana
Urine Drug Tests That Include THC Testing
If marijuana testing is needed, the below urine drug panels include testing for THC:
For a complete list of urine drug panels that we offer, view our urine drug panels here.
Hair Drug Panels That Include Marijuana Testing
The following are hair drug tests that include testing for THC:
A comprehensive list of the hair drug panels that we offer can be found here.