Kansas Marijuana Compliance

Under current Kansas marijuana compliance law, the consumption, sale, and possession of marijuana for any purpose is considered illegal. Unlike its neighboring state of Colorado, which fully legalized both medical and recreational marijuana almost a decade ago, Kansas still possesses some of the strictest marijuana laws in the country. This means that there is no difference between marijuana state vs. federal law when it comes to legality.

As an “open” drug testing law state, Kansas employers face minimal restrictions when looking to screen applicants and employees for the use of marijuana. However, the Kansas Human Rights Commission requires that if an employer wishes to test an applicant for marijuana use, they must first present a conditional job offer to the individual seeking the position.

Register for a drug test online by clicking the “Register Now” button below. You can also call (888) 378-2499 with any questions about our drug testing services.

Register Now

This Information Is Not Intended for Legal Purposes

The information provided on this page is intended for your own knowledge, and should not be used for legal matters. Since marijuana testing regulations can vary, we advise you to seek the guidance of expert legal counsel when creating your company’s substance abuse screening program.

Kansas Marijuana Compliance

Kansas Marijuana Laws

Overall Status: Fully Illegal

Under current state legislation, there are no Kansas marijuana laws that allow the consumption, sale, or possession of marijuana for either medical or recreational purposes. It wasn’t until 2018 that Kansas residents were allowed to possess cannabidiol (CBD) products that contained 0% THC.

With Kansas marijuana laws viewing the substance as fully illegal, employers who wish to test employees for the use of marijuana do not face heavy restrictions. Kansas employers must only first present a conditional job offer to applicants prior to a testing request.

Medical Marijuana: Fully Illegal

Kansas marijuana law currently prohibits the consumption, sale, and possession of medicinal marijuana. Although medical marijuana is not legal in the state of Kansas, Governor Jeff Colyer signed SB 282 in 2018, which legalized the broad use of CBD products as long as they contained 0% THC.

In 2019, Governor Laura Kelly signed Claire and Lola’s Law to establish a legal defense for patients with debilitating conditions who possess CBD products that hold 5% or less THC in the state of Kansas.

Decriminalized: No

To date, there have been no changes to the Kansas law that has decriminalized the use or possession of marijuana. Only regulations established by Claire and Lola’s Law provide legal protection for patients with debilitating conditions who possess 5% or less THC cannabidiol (CDB) products.

Under current Kansas marijuana law, first-time offenders found in possession of any marijuana amounts face a Class B misdemeanor that holds up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Second-time offenders face a Class A misdemeanor, up to a year in jail, and a fine of up to $2,500.

Recreational Marijuana: Fully Illegal

As with medical marijuana laws in the state of Kansas, there are no current recreational marijuana laws. With neither recreational nor medicinal marijuana laws in place, Kansas residents can face misdemeanor charges with possible jail time and fines if found in possession of marijuana. A lack of marijuana legalization creates minimal restrictions for Kansas employers who wish to screen employees for marijuana use.

Frequently Asked Questions

Under current Kansas law, the consumption, possession, and sale of marijuana for both recreational and medical purposes are considered illegal.

What is Kansas’s history with marijuana?

Although recreational and medicinal marijuana are both considered illegal in the state of Kansas, Claire and Lola’s Law established in 2019 provides legal protections to patients with debilitating conditions who possess CBD products of 5% THC or less.

What is the punishment for possession in Kansas?

According to current law for Kansas marijuana compliance, first-time possession offenders can face a Class B misdemeanor that holds up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.

Drug Panels That Exclude Marijuana

Urine Drug Panels That Exclude Marijuana Testing

Some of the popular drug panels that remove marijuana testing are listed below:

Also try taking a look at our comprehensive list of urine drug tests that exclude marijuana, where you’ll find a complete list of drug tests that do not include THC testing under the “Exclude Marijuana” section.

Hair Drug Panels That Exclude Marijuana Testing

Two of our popular hair tests allow for the option to exclude marijuana from the panel of substances being tested. These include:

For a complete list of our hair drug tests, take a look at our comprehensive list of hair tests.

Drug Panels That Include Marijuana

Urine Drug Panels That Include Marijuana Testing

Many of our testing options include marijuana testing. Below are some of the most popular urine drug tests including marijuana:

Also try taking a look at our comprehensive list of urine drug tests that include marijuana.

Hair Drug Panels That Include Marijuana Testing

Our variety of hair drug tests include many options for marijuana testing. Some of the most commonly ordered hair drug tests are:

A comprehensive list of the hair drug tests that we offer can be found here.

Citations

menu_book
“Equal Employment Practices: Preventing Discrimination in Hiring.” Kansas Human Rights Commission, http://www.khrc.net/hiring.html
menu_book
“Senate Bill 282.” Kansas Legislature, http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2018/b2017_18/measures/documents/sb282_enrolled.pdf
menu_book
“Claire and Lola’s Law.” Kansas Legislature, http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2020/b2019_20/measures/documents/summary_sb_28_2019
menu_book
“Marijuana Possession in Kansas.” NOLO, https://www.criminaldefenselawyer.com/marijuana-laws-and-penalties/Kansas.htm