Alaska Marijuana Compliance

In Alaska, marijuana is legal under state law for medicinal and recreational purposes. However, Alaska marijuana compliance laws differ from federal laws, and marijuana use remains illegal under federal law. Employers are not required to accommodate medical marijuana use in the workplace, and they are free to establish drug testing for their applicants and employees which includes marijuana testing.

Here is an overview of medicinal marijuana and recreational marijuana laws in the state of Alaska.

Register for a drug test online by clicking the “Register Now” button below. You can also call (888) 378-2499 with any questions about our drug testing services.

Register Now

This Information Is Not Intended for Legal Purposes

The information provided on this page is intended for your own knowledge, and should not be used for legal matters. Since marijuana testing regulations can vary, we advise you to seek the guidance of expert legal counsel when creating your company’s substance abuse screening program.

Alaska Marijuana Compliance

Alaska Marijuana Laws

Overall Status: Fully Legal

In Alaska, it is legal for adults ages 21 and older to use marijuana for recreational purposes, as long as marijuana is purchased from approved marijuana stores. Adults may possess up to one ounce of marijuana outside of the home.

Medical Marijuana: Legal

In 1998, Alaska became the third state to legalize medical marijuana, after the Alaska Medical Marijuana Initiative was approved by voters.

Decriminalized: Yes

Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Alaska for adults ages 21 and older. There is no penalty for the possession of up to one ounce of marijuana unless there was intent to distribute it. There is no Alaska marijuana compliance law that prevents employers from testing employees and maintaining a drug-free workplace.

Recreational Marijuana: Legal

Alaska marijuana laws state that recreational marijuana is legal in Alaska for adults ages 21 and older. Adults may possess up to one ounce of marijuana outside of the home, and may not use the drug on public lands, in hotel lobbies, or on cruise ships. It’s illegal to travel out of state with marijuana, and it cannot be used on airplanes or ferries.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, marijuana is legal in Alaska for both recreational and medical purposes. Residents who are 21 years of age or older may consume marijuana for recreational purposes. Although the state of Alaska has legalized marijuana for recreational and medicinal use, it’s important to note that marijuana use remains illegal under federal law.

Are there any unique laws about marijuana in Alaska?

In Alaska, it is legal to possess up to four ounces of marijuana in your private residence, but one to four ounces of marijuana possession in public is a misdemeanor. Marijuana cultivation laws in Alaska are complex.

Adults and medical marijuana patients may cultivate, process and transport as many as six marijuana plants, but only three or fewer can be flowering. However, there can be as many as 12 plants in a single dwelling (with six or fewer flowering), regardless of how many people live there. All plants must be kept in a private and secure location. Cultivation of 25 plants or more is a felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $1,000.

What is Alaska’s history with marijuana?

Alaska was the third state to legalize recreational marijuana, which was legalized in 2015, after the passage of the bill in 2014. Medical marijuana has been legal in Alaska since 1998 after voters approved the Alaska Medical Marijuana Initiative.

What is the punishment for possession in Alaska?

In Alaska, there is no punishment for the possession of marijuana under one ounce. The possession of one ounce to four ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable with one year of incarceration and a fine of up to $10,000.

The possession of four ounces or more of marijuana is a felony, punishable with up to 5 years of incarceration and a fine of up to $50,000.

Possession with the intent to distribute less than one ounce is a misdemeanor, resulting in up to one year of incarceration and a $10,000 fine. The possession with the intent to distribute more than one ounce in Alaska is a felony, resulting in 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000.

Drug Tests That Exclude Marijuana

Urine Drug Panels That Do Not Include Marijuana Testing

Some of the popular drug tests that remove THC from the panel of drugs being tested are listed below:

Also try taking a look at our comprehensive list of urine drug panels that exclude marijuana. Drug tests that do not include marijuana testing can be found under the “Exclude Marijuana” section.

Hair Drug Tests That Do Not Include Marijuana Testing

To remove marijuana testing from a hair test, try one of our two popular hair tests:

For a complete list of our hair drug tests, take a look at our comprehensive list of hair tests.

Drug Panels That Include Marijuana

Urine Drug Tests That Include THC Testing

If marijuana testing is needed, the below urine drug panels include testing for THC:

For a complete list of urine drug panels that we offer, view our urine drug panels here.

Hair Drug Panels That Include Marijuana Testing

The following are hair drug tests that include testing for THC:

A comprehensive list of the hair drug panels that we offer can be found here.

Citations

menu_book
“Is Marijuana Legal in Alaska?” Travel Alaska, https://www.travelalaska.com/Planning/Tips/Is-marijuana-legal-in-Alaska.aspx
menu_book
“Alaska Medical Marijuana Act, Measure 8 (1998).” Ballotpedia, https://ballotpedia.org/Alaska_Medical_Marijuana_Act,_Measure_8_(1998)
menu_book
“Alaska.” Weedmaps, https://weedmaps.com/learn/laws-and-regulations/alaska#:~
menu_book
“Alaska Laws and Penalties.” NORML, https://norml.org/laws/alaska-penalties/
menu_book
“Alaska Marijuana Laws.” FindLaw, https://www.findlaw.com/state/alaska-law/alaska-marijuana-laws.html
menu_book
“Get the Facts About Marijuana.” Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, https://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/director/pages/marijuana/facts.aspx
menu_book
“AS 17.38.010.” The Alaska State Legislature, http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#17.38.010
menu_book
“Get the Facts About Marijuana: Know the Law.” Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, https://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/director/pages/marijuana/law.aspx